Stay in compliance with the new state law AND save your customers from having to put unsightly holes in their bumpers!
STO N SHO has a solution to help you comply with AB 516 without compromising your customer satisfaction! Call or email us today to talk about how we can help!
What is California AB 516?
Effective January 1, 2019, California once again joins many other states in requiring all motor vehicles to display a temporary license plate instead of simply taping a Report of Sale (ROS) on the front windshield.
How does AB 516 Affect me?
Once the law goes into effect:
- With AB 516, the document processing charge increases by $5 making the charge $85 for BPA participants (from $80) and $70 for non-participants (from $65).
- Along with the ROS number, the dealer is responsible for transmitting the following information to the DMV prior to delivery, at the time of sale: Vehicle Identification Number, Year, Make, Model, name of dealer or lessor-retailer, purchaser name(s) and address, and any other information deemed necessary by the department.
- The dealer no longer needs to submit a 5-day notice to DMV. The electronic transmission at the time of sale and delivery replaces this requirement.
- Any vehicle that does not have two license plates at the time of delivery requires a Temp Tag. For example: new vehicles, non-resident vehicles, prior Environmental License Plate (Personal Plate) on vehicle, etc.
- A laser printer is required to produce a Temp Tag.
Need more information and training?